Crystal Palace confirmed team news: Three changes as Dann, Riedewald and Ayew in

0 GettyImages 1293188102

Roy Hodgson has made three changes to the starting line up as Crystal Palace travel to St Mary’s to face Southampton, with Scott Dann, Jairo Riedewald and Jordan Ayew coming into the XI.

Gary Cahill, Jeff Schlupp and Andros Townsend are the three players to make way just three days after the win against Sheffield United, with Palace back in action again early on Sunday.

Vicente Guaita starts in goal, with a back four of Joel Ward, Cheikhou Kouyate, Dann and Tyrick Mitchell.

Riedewald starts in central midfield alongside captain Luka Milivojevic and Ebere Eze, while Ayew comes in on the right flank with Christian Benteke and Wilfried Zaha also in attack.

Hodgson confirmed that there were no new injuries to contend with after the win over Sheffield United on Saturday, and that there would not be any players returning to the side either.

READ ALSO:   Jose Mourinho gets new job after Tottenham sack

“It’s the same as before we travelled to Sheffield,” Hodgson told reporters.

“James McArthur of course is still missing, Mamadou Sakho is still missing and Connor Wickham. Nathan Ferguson is back training with the team now, which is really good news, especially for him after such an enormously long lay off. But otherwise everyone is fit, so I have a good squad at the moment.

“We’ll have to think about the quick turnaround, there’s no doubt about that. There might be players we need to assess tomorrow and check that playing another game so close to the last one is a good idea or not.

READ ALSO:   From Garcia’s 'Ghost Goal' to Barca comeback - Liverpool’s 5 Champions League semi-finals - Liverpool FC

“But I don’t intend to make wholesale changes. We want to finish the season well. I’m anxious to keep putting what I think is the best team we can put out on the day onto the field to win the game.

“So it’s certainly not going to be a case for me of saying, ‘right, we’re now past 40 points, we now can’t be caught mathematically, this is a time to hand out free passes to players’.”

Crystal Palace XI: Guaita; Ward, Kouyate, Dann, Mitchell; Milivojevic, Riedewald, Eze; Ayew, Benteke, Zaha.

Subs: Butland, Cahill, Kelly, Van Aanholt, McCarthy, Schlupp, Townsend, Batshuayi, Mateta.

Southampton XI: Forster; Walker-Peters, Bednarek, Vestergaard, Stephens; Ward-Prowse, Armstrong, Redmond, Minamino; Ings, Adams.

Subs: McCarthy, Salisu, Diallo, Ferry, Walcott, Tella, Djenepo, Obafemi, Nlundulu.

Source by Football London

Share and Enjoy !


Leave a Reply