Tottenham star named in UEFA’s Euro 2020 Team of the Tournament alongside three England stars

0 GettyImages 1324770366

Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg has been named in UEFA’s Euro 2020 Team of the Tournament.

The 25-year-old starred in Denmark’s run to the semi-finals of the competition, laying on three assists in an eye-catching box to box role for the Dane.

It was only Harry Kane’s goal in extra-time that ended Hojbjerg and Denmark’s run to the final.

Kane, who netted four goals at the Euros, does not join his Spurs team-mate in the team of the tournament, with three other England players making the side.

READ ALSO:   Paulo Dybala, Wilfried Zaha and 4 players Tottenham are tipped to sign in summer transfer window

Kyle Walker, Harry Maguire and Raheem Sterling were chosen from the England squad.

Here is UEFA’s chosen team:

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy); Kyle Walker (England), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy), Harry Maguire (England), Leonardo Spinazzola (Italy); Jorginho (Italy), Pierre-Emile Højbjerg (Denmark), Pedri (Spain); Federico Chiesa (Italy), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), Raheem Sterling (England).

Italy goalkeeper Donnarumma was named as the UEFA EURO 2020 Player of the Tournament, while 18-year-old Spanish midfielder Pedri won the Young Player of the Tournament award.

The line-up was selected by UEFA’s technical observer team, which was made up of 16 former players and former/current coaches including former Spurs striker Robbie Keane and midfielder Steffen Freund and West Ham boss David Moyes.

READ ALSO:   Cameroon vs Nigeria: Rohr confirms players that will start Tuesday's friendly

They were: Packie Bonner (Republic of Ireland), Esteban Cambiasso (Argentina/Italy), Fabio Capello (Italy), Cosmin Contra (Romania), Corinne Diacre (France), Jean-François Domergue (France), Dušan Fitzel (Czech Republic), Steffen Freund (Germany), Frans Hoek (Netherlands), Aitor Karanka (Spain), Robbie Keane (Republic of Ireland), Ginés Meléndez (Spain), David Moyes (Scotland), Mixu Paatelainen (Finland), Peter Rudbæk (Denmark) and Willi Ruttensteiner (Austria).

Source by Football London

Share and Enjoy !


Leave a Reply