Reece James certainly experienced the highs and lows of a matchday during Chelsea’s 1-1 draw against Liverpool.
The low point being the red card on the stroke of half-time, leaving the Blues with a huge mountain to climb in the second half away at a fellow Premier League title rival.
In an incident that easily could have been avoided had Marcos Alonso not got in Edouard Mendy’s way, James was adjudged to have handled Diogo Jota’s effort on the line.
After a VAR check, the decision was made by referee Anthony Taylor to award Liverpool a penalty and on top of that, send the England international off.
To Chelsea’s credit, they still managed to earn a valuable point at Anfield despite playing the second half with a man less and also without the injured N’Golo Kante.
And it would appear that the red card hasn’t affected James too much.
As spotted by Blues fans on Reddit, the 21-year-old somewhat broke his silence on the sending off with a three-word response to Kai Havertz on Instagram.
Although it wasn’t to react to the red card.
Instead, he said: “You’re welcome bro” in relation to his assist for Havertz’s brilliant looping header that broke the deadlock on Merseyside in the first-half.
Whilst James seems to have accepted the decision, his manager Thomas Tuchel wasn’t too happy about the double jeopardy rule coming into play.
“Double punishment is super hard and it’s always a bit of a spoiler of the game,” Tuchel explained in his post-match press conference. I think it’s the rule. If the referee says he denies a clear goal with his hand, nobody knows if the penalty is a goal. It’s a big chance but you don’t get the goal back.
“I don’t like these early red cards, of course not at Liverpool when we play. In general, it’s a bit of a spoiler for the game. Nobody I think wants to see that for 45 minutes. They want to see a high-level game. I have no solution for it and no better idea at this moment. But it’s a spoiler.
“The situation itself, well I can understand the decision and I don’t say it is wrong, but I don’t like the way the referee checked it because he just checked the image. The image showed a clear contact and then it was a clear decision.
“We saw it on the bench and on our iPad. We saw the movement, it was a short distance and also a deflection onto his arm. The arm is not in a super unnatural position. I have heard referees already saying it was not a punishable action. I maybe would have wished for a longer consultation and view on the whole situation.
“Maybe it would have stayed the same decision. It could have been the same decision. We have to live with it and some decisions stay with the referee in the moment. It was against us and we did the very best of it because it was very, very tough.”
Source by Football London