Ex-UNILORIN VC loses SDP primaries twice in one week

By ‘Wole Adedeji, Ilorin

A former Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin (UNILORIN), Prof. Shuaib Oba AbdulRahman, who challenged the primary election of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), in Kwara State, has lost out in a rerun of the exercise.

Based on his petition to the national body of the party, a repeat exercise was ordered and scheduled for Monday, 30th May, 2022 to be conducted by a five-man team from Abuja.

At the end, Prof. AbdulRaheem only polled 177 votes against 606 votes of Mallam Akeem Lawal. A total of 692 delegates were accredited  with 791 votes cast. Valid votes were 782 and nine invalid.

READ ALSO: http://Osinbajo’ll deliver, says APC member asking panel to disqualify Tinubu over ‘Chicago affair’

READ ALSO:   Buhari Congratulates Canadian PM on His Reelection

An earlier election exercise was held last week with the same Akeem winning the former Vice Chancellor by a wide margin as well as other four aspirants.

However, the remaining three; Arch Kale Belgore, Engr. Sunday Adebayo and Mallam Tajudeen Audu opted out of the rerun primary while Alhaji Khaleel Bolaji  participated.

The stormy University of Ilorin Ex-Vice Chancellor also participated in the run-up to the governorship race of the All Progressives Congress in 2019 when he lost to the now incumbent Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq.

He also at the time protested against the result of the primaries  which made him one of strongest opponents of the governor ever since.

READ ALSO:   Yuguda knocks governors over Nigeria's woes, says most lack focus | The Guardian Nigeria News

READ ALSO: http://Alleged fraud: Sen. Rochas Okorocha gets bail

Sources said after the exercise in the SDP last week, some elders of the party prevailed on the ex university don not to make any issues out of it this time around but he allegedly declined.

Also, he was said to have locked out Akeem Lawal when at the instance of the elders, he went to the Professor to make peace.

The primary election was conducted by a national committee comprising of Barrister George Agbaminoje as Chairman, Dr. Godwin Malsbowe as Secereatry and Nelson Ekujumi, Tunde Babalola and Funsho Fabiyi as members.


Share and Enjoy !


Leave a Reply